Sorry I’ve been delayed in writing. Ummmm, I’m in off-season on the island of Hvar so not so easy to find places open – except cafes! I’ve been drowning myself in espressos – yum!

I explored Zagreb on Friday. I missed the bus to Plitvice because I slept until almost noon! It was raining anyway and the girl at the hotel said it wouldn’t be a good day to see it, but now I won’t see it at all because I don’t have enough time when I get back to Zagreb.

Zagreb is a cute city – very quaint and easy to explore. I wandered through flower, fruit, veggie and clothing markets. It drizzled all day but I brought my umbrella so I held my umbrella in one hand and camera in the other. It was maybe about 60 degrees but as long as I was walking, I was warm. The stone streets curve up and around the town with lots of cafes – it must be nice enough to sit outside all year round. It’s fun to sit facing the small streets to people watch. A lot of girls wore long boots with their pants tucked in. I’ve seen some layering outfits, very 80s. I went to a museum as I started to get chilled – so interesting but I wished I would have started with the paintings – I had to rush through them because they were closing. I saw ancient artifacts and pieces of old crap from Europe – statues and such. They had paintings by Degas, Rubens, Suerat, H. Bosch, Manet – that’s all I can remember right now. So beautiful – I love paintings because I can see the story in them (even if it’s my own made up story!). I went to dinner that night and back to the hotel. Dining is an experience that will require it’s own blog.

Stacy came in on Friday night. On Saturday, I showed her all the sights I had found on Friday. (Let me tell you, you should be impressed with my typing right now – the keyboard is a little different than ours and I keep making mistakes. And it has cool characters like čćžđš). So back to Stacy – when we went down the the main square there was some kind of rally going on. The first one looked religious by the signs they carried. Then they had this huge video screen up in the center – all this old history, stone buildings and trolleys on wires around the square then then a huge modern TV screen. I found out later that they have elections in a month, so they might have been talking about that.

Most everyone speaks English and people are very friendly. Croatians love their dogs, I’ll talk about that later.

We flew to Split on Saturday afternoon – warm! So beautiful and on the water . . .

